Europe · France · Photography · Travel

Je l’adore.

As cliche as it sounds my heart flickered when I saw it. It was perfect, just like I had always imagined it would be. Turning the corner, gazing upwards, I stopped to take a breath in. Everything was different – the air felt cleaner, sweeter, somehow more romantic. Perhaps it was just the movies that created this branded image of perfection in my mind, but the Eiffel Tower, Paris and France sure felt that way, even on a cold snowy day.

I was relatively new to the photography world while traveling in January 2010, and as a result I didn’t know how to manipulate the lighting as well to my advantage. Unfortunately this meant that our late night trek to the Louvre would end in plenty of blurry pictures, or attempts to shoot with my flash. However I still managed to capture alot of the essence I felt during my stay in France.

The fact that we climbed the Eiffel tower in the freezing cold only to learn at the second level that it was closed for renovations, was a clear calling that I needed to return. Although I’m not sure when I’ll be back – for now, as I reminisce about my days gallivanting around Europe I wanted to share these and let you relive mon voyage magnifique momentarily avec moi.

Looking up at the Eiffel Tower.
Beach dwellers – Nice, France.
Marseille, France
Romanticism
Hanging out with the winged victory of Samothrace – Louvre
The Eiffel Tower – architectural perspective
Light house adventures – Nice, France
Daylight all day long.
5 thoughts on “Je l’adore.

  1. These photos are great! Especially love the 1st Eiffel Tower photo. I spent last nov/dec backpacking around France…I remember trying to get those spectacular Eiffel Tower shots amongst others, although I have 0 photography experience. Can you put some more France photos up? I’ve just started my own blog and will start posting my own pics up soon, but more as a way of reminiscing – I’d love to see some more shots 🙂

  2. I will soon be in Marseilles for the first time — I’ll find your Pieta pic and take a pic of myself there 🙂 Love your photo collections 🙂

Leave a Reply

